20th Titanic International Filmfestival


About the Breaking Waves Award

The Breaking Waves Award, founded in 2006 and crafted by fine artist Luca Görömbei goes to the most outstanding, daring and innovative movie of the festival every year. The receiver of the Award - selected from the competition line-up drawn up by the festival staff - is voted unanimously by three members of our international jury.

Previously awarded…

  • Breaking Waves Award: Ruben Östlund - Play (Sweden, France, Denmark)
  • Members of the Jury: Stefan Laudyn has been director of the Warsaw International Film Festival. Founder (1995) and general manager of the Warsaw Film Foundation, Ágnes Kocsis film director (Fresh Air; Adrienn Pál received a FIPRESCI Award at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival), András Muhi is a Béla Balázs Award-winner producer and director (Forest, Womb, Just the Wind, Black Brush).

The Audience’s Award went to Come As You Are (Belgium) by Geoffrey Enthoven.

  • Breaking Waves Award: Martin Jern and Emil Larsson - Savage (Odjuret; Sweden)
  • Members of the Jury: Elliot Grove, Canadian-born film producer who founded Raindance Film Festival in 1993, the British Independent Film Award in 1998, Esther Rots film director (Can Go Through Skin premiered in 2009 Berlinale in the Forum section), Ági Pataki film producer (White Palms, Overnight, Delta, Bibliotheque Pascal and Tender Son - The Frankenstein Project).

The Audience’s Award went to Submarino (Denmark, Sweden) by Thomas Vinterberg.

  • Members of the Jury: Nick James, the Editor of Sight & Sound, the world's leading English language film magazine, first published in 1932. Tiina Lokk Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival director, Péter Gothár film director, writer, stage director.

The Audience’s Award went to Fantastic Mr. Fox (USA, UK) by Wes Anderson.

  • Breaking Waves Award: Rune Denstad Langlo - Nord (North)
  • Members of the Jury: Baltasar Kormákur, Icelandic film director, actor, writer, producer, Ildikó Enyedi, Hungarian film director , writer, producer and Gergely Pohárnok, Hungarian cinematographer.
The Audience’s Award went to an Icelandic film, White Night Wedding (Brúðguminn) by  Baltasar Kormákur.

  • Breaking Waves Award: Baltasar Kormákur - Mýrin (Jar City)
  • Members of the Jury: Grainne Humphreys, director of the Jameson Dublin Inernational Film Festival, Kornél  Mundruczó, Hungarian film director and Marek Dobes, Czech film director and journalist.

The Audience’s Award went to an Icelandic film, Sigur Rós: Heima by Dean DeBlois.

  • Breaking Waves Award: Esteban Sapir - The Aerial (La Antena)
  • Members of the Jury: Marit Kapla, director of the Göteborg International Film Festival, György Pálfi, Hungarian film director and Ronald Bergan film journalist.

The Audience’s Award went to an Irish comedy, Mickybo & Me by Terry Loane.

  • Breaking Waves Award: Ilya Khrzhanovsky - 4
  • Members of the Jury: Shane Danielsen, Art Director of the Edinburgh International Film Festival, György Báron film journalist, president of the Alliance of Hungarian Film Critiques, Nils Klevjer Aas, Senior Advisor to the Norwegian Film Fund and the Norwegian Ministry for Cultural and Church Affairs.

The Audience’s Award went to Miranda July’s comedy: Me and You and Everyone We Know.



© Titanic International Film Festival Budapest 2021 Contact » powered by proaction »